Iowa Band History Project

Posted in History of the Iowa Bandmasters Association

Hello From The Iowa Band History Project!

The IBA is in the process of chronicling the history of bands in Iowa.  We hope to publish this within the next 5 to 6 years as both a web site and also as a book.  We are currently in the "gathering" phase of the project, and we're hoping you can help us tell the story of school bands in Iowa.

Can you please answer a few questions about your school band program before you head off for a well-deserved summer break?  Don't worry about working "off the top of your head," or sending us incomplete information.  You can always come back to it later.  We want to start now during the summer months, because we will all become preoccupied with our duties once the school year begins.  Hopefully, you'll find the process informative and even fun!

1988 - Karl L. King, Major George Landers, Alonzo Leach, F. E. Mortiboy, Carleton Stewart
1989 - Don Jackson, Milton Trexel
1990 - Will Green, Roy Schwab
1991 - Philip Sehmann, Maurice Wright
1992 - Richard Day, Frank Kluesner
1993 - Glenn Miller
1994 - Myron Russell
1995 - Robert W. Dean
1996 - Jay Wicker
1997 - Ivan Kennedy
2000 - Leo Kucinski, Joseph Christensen
2002 - Dick Bauman
2005 - Paul Behm
2006 - Reggie Schive
2007 - Martin Crandell
2008 - Steve Colton
2009 - Gilbert G. Lettow, Robert E. Lowry
2010 - Erling B. Hanson
2011 - Frank Piersol
2013 - Himie Voxman, Bob Bagley
2014 - Karl H. Killinger
2016 - John Holeman
2018 - Weston Noble


93rd Annual IBA Conference

May 14-16, 2020

Des Moines Marriott Downtown

700 Grand Avenue

Des Moines, Iowa  50309