Archived Articles

2020 Conference Honor Ensembles Selected

IBA recently convened listening panels made up of elementary, junior high, and high school directors from every IBA district to select through blind audition, the 2020 Conference Honor Ensembles.

The bands selected to perform are listed below in the "read more."

Please join the IBA Board in congratulating the following selected bands:

1A Concert Band
Logan-Magnolia High School Concert Band
Alex Albertson, Director

2A Concert Band
West Lyon Symphonic Band
Drew Balta, Director

3A Concert Band
Keokuk High School Concert Band
Joel Knipe, Director

4A Concert Band
Valley High School Symphony Band
Josh Waymire, Director

Junior High/Middle School Concert Band (1A-2A Feeder)
None Selected

Junior High/Middle School Concert Band (3A-4A Feeder)
Independence Jr. High Concert Band
Karl Smith, Director

Elem/Beginning Concert Band
Excelsior Middle School Sixth Grade Band
Shawn Sandersfeld, Director

High School Jazz Band
Johnston High School Jazz Syndicate
Jeff Robilliard, Director

Adult/Community Band
Eastern Iowa Brass Band
Alex Beamer, Director


Chris Strohmaier, IBA President-elect

95th Annual IBA Conference

May 12-14, 2022